Three Additional Aspects of a CSI Register

My last post described a CSI Register as defined by the ITIL Continual Service Improvement book. In this post, I will dig deeper into some additional aspects of a CSI Register. I will discuss three important factors to creating a successful and useful CSI Register: accountability, the link to service level management, and prioritization.

Read more

Weak Link in Continual Service Improvement

It’s difficult to make a case than any of the ITIL books are more important than any of the others. There are convincing arguments that can be made in support of any one of the five core books being the most important. While there are both things I like and things I don’t like about the current Continual Service Improvement (CSI) book, organizations that fail to properly attend to this aspect of service management are at a severe disadvantage.

Read more

Could CSI use a WIG?

Could Crime Scene Investigations use a new hairdo? No, this is not what we are discussing here. For this discussion, CSI is Continual Service Improvement from the ITIL framework. ITIL, that is, IT Infrastructure Library™, is the international standard for best practices in IT Service Management (ITSM).[1]

In that ITIL is a framework for ITSM, many methodologies and standards can be used within its framework to achieve organizational effectiveness. The PDCA Deming Cycle, from management philosopher W. Edwards Deming, is used extensively throughout ITIL. COBIT, ISO/IEC 2000, ISO standards, Program and Project Management, Carnegie Mellon CMMI, Balanced Scorecard and Six Sigma are all effective and can give guidance within an organization employing the ITIL framework.

Read more